Digging Deeper: The Data Behind the Scene

TL;DR = Thinking on a much simpler level, I have decided to make use of lists to store my data rather than going over the top with databases, matrices, and dictionaries.


Over the past week I have been creating presentations that have been given to a small group of my peers in order to receive feedback on my Triple Triad project. The comments from the presentations, as well as other conversations with peers and professors alike, have opened my mind to a new way that I could approach creating my project. In other words, I have been overthinking how I would implement the program with the use of the Unity system, and I have decided to take a step back to focus on simplicity rather than complexity.

This affects my project in many ways. First, focusing on a simpler approach allows me to implement my game board using a 9 element list rather than using a 3 element list, where each element of that list is a 3 element list ( a list of lists or a 3×3 matrix). Using the 9 element list allows for a speed boost in search time when trying to keep track of what cards are on the game board as I will only have to search through 9 elements at most. Applying more layers, such as a list of lists, adds more time to the search since it has to go through multiple layers to get to the data that I need. However, even though speeding up the program is nice, the best part about having the simpler approach is that it allows for a simpler implementation of the game. Since there are distinct boundaries on my small 9 slot game board, I do not need to fear hard coding the transitions and comparisons since the game is so small. If the game were much larger, with more possibilities, then hard coding would eventually get out of hand and many algorithms would need to be put in place to handle the sheer amount of possibilities.

Second, the card objects themselves can have their values stored in lists to be applied later. In this case I will be using a 6 element list that will hold the following values for each card: Card Name, North Value, South Value, East Value, West Value, and Ownership Value. The card name will be a string variable that will be used as an identifier when moving the card object around the game screen (from the hand to the board). Each of the Cardinal Values will be integers between 1 and 9, and will denote that cards power in that cardinal direction. The ownership variable will be a string that will denote which player is currently in ownership of the card (ex. the string “player 1” will mean that player 1 owns the card, while “player 2” means player 2 owns the card).

This is only the start of a much more overarching data model. This surprises me to no end that I can theoretically complete this project using such simple data structures and hard coding most of the relationships. At this point, I have to say that I am ecstatic to begin work on this project… after a lot more planning!

Leave a Reply

